The Russian passport is the most useless piece of shit.

Alexei Sorokin
4 min readMay 5, 2022

I guess no shit can be useful, so bad English right there, but, still, the Russian passport is astoundingly useless. In fact, it’s a huge liability.

This is not another rant (out of California) about Putin.

Actually, it is. Yes, out of California.

Forget the war in Ukraine for a moment.

Imagine you are Putin, or, more generally, the President of Russia.

In fact, forget Russia. Imagine you’re President of some nation.

I think this one criterion can be used to judge how successful you are, and how you’re building (or not) your legacy: is having your country’s passport desirable, and attractive? Is it becoming more attractive because of your policies and achievements? Do foreign students and workers, the exceptional ones or even the more ordinary folks, desire to one day become part of your country, to make it home for their children? Do you have your own people appreciating their citizenship, because they feel protected, because the passport commands respect?

Let me tell you about my Russian passport. I am a green card holder, but I’m some years away from having a US passport.

It gives me absolutely nothing. As I said, it’s a huge liability.

Like right now my family would like to travel to Europe in the summer, because of one particular personal situation. It’s not trivial because we have to get Schengen visas. And…

--

--

Alexei Sorokin

A Russian immigrant in America, father of 4, Cambridge and Harvard Business School alum. I run and write every day. https://runningwritingliving.substack.com/