The red flag in people which I consider a true red flag

Alexei Sorokin
3 min readMar 16, 2024

I had an incident today in one of my projects where I misstepped and the guy who hired me fired me. I had delivered and would continue to deliver the work but was being ‘high maintenance’ discussing my compensation. I wasn’t even negotiating but messaged unnecessarily about some tactical nuances related to my invoices.

“OMG, I don’t believe it”, the guy messaged me. “Forget it. Stop the work. This is not going to work.”

I was wrong because I had already discovered from a couple of earlier situations that my boss can be easily triggered so I should’ve been extra careful with my questions or messages.

Anyway, the reason I mention this episode is not because I want to criticize the particular person I was consulting or portray myself as innocent. It reminded me of a certain trait in some people that I consider a deadly sin. “Deadly sin” is an over-the-top expression but it conveys the profound nature of the shortcoming I want to discuss.

Here’s another example from my professional life. Last year, I was discussing a new business venture with a potential partner. We had only recently met, but we hit it off well due to our shared enthusiasm for the idea and some common interests. As our discussions progressed, disagreements arose regarding the vision. While the debates remained amicable, I couldn’t help but notice a shift in his demeanor — a subtle rolling of the eyes and a facial expression hinted at a different personality from the one I had…

--

--

Alexei Sorokin

A Russian immigrant in America, father of 4, Cambridge and Harvard Business School alum. I run and write every day. https://runningwritingliving.substack.com/