Hot weather is just happy weather!

Alexei Sorokin
3 min readSep 8, 2022

I like hot weather and I don’t care about the seasons.

Because hot weather is just happy weather! If you’re not a runner, you probably have no idea who Jacob Ingebristen is (he’s the best middle-distance runner in the world!) but here’s a brief video of Jacob a few weeks ago during the world athletics champions in Oregon:

I’m a huge fan of Jacob. He’s extraordinary. I love running and I know that running in hot weather can be rough, yet there Jacob Ingebristen in me: hot weather is just happy weather! There is something about hot weather that makes me happy! Or maybe I’m just always happy about my running.

Sometimes in my stories I whine about Florida. I spend my time between California and Florida. Both states experience hot weather, but Florida is hot and humid. You step outside in the evening and it’s still like a sauna.

So occasionally I complain about the quality of my runs in Florida but overall I’m in my territory when it’s hot and sunny!

I’m Russian and I lived in Boston too so I’ve seen it all — terrible winter storms, chilling winds, undrivable roads; beautiful mornings too when the snow is shiny and crunchy, when you finish your outdoor activity and your cheeks are flushed…

--

--

Alexei Sorokin

A Russian immigrant in America, father of 4, Cambridge and Harvard Business School alum. I run and write every day. https://runningwritingliving.substack.com/