Halloween = demise of Western Society

Alexei Sorokin
2 min readNov 2, 2021

I recently observed my children getting all excited about Halloween night. They dragged me out to a local Halloween hotspot. It occurred to me then that Halloween perfectly reflects the demise of our modern society.

Let’s be upfront about what happens at this “celebration”.

You have a bunch of immature children, dressed up like idiots, turn up uninvited at strangers’ houses. They have no inhibitions. Humility when facing strangers and people of an older generation is not one of their qualities, but, hey, what do you expect from a society…

--

--

Alexei Sorokin

A Russian immigrant in America, father of 4, Cambridge and Harvard Business School alum. I run and write every day. https://runningwritingliving.substack.com/